“The job and career you may have today probably doesn’t even exist now,” is something I tell my 2 kids and the college students I teach.

I mean, perhaps the career they’ll have could closely tie to one in today’s current market, but how they work and what they’ll do is something that technology will open the doors to.

For example, the Pinterest phenomenon quickly jumped into the everyday realm of life, relationships, and sharing. A need to save great ideas, likes, interests, and hobbies, mixed with the desire to share them with friends, acquaintances, and the general public human race.

BOOM! Pinterest exploded and found its way into our everyday vocabulary.

Even through my husband of 23 years continues to toss out all sorts of “memorabilia” I found special enough to save due to my sentimental spirit, I recently found something “special” in our attic.

Image

Yes, I found a 1990’s early model of Pinterest, minus the Internet, that is. In my quest to be super mom when our kids were little, I read and gathered all sorts of crafty ideas to try with them. From taffy to flubber, I posted ideas into a magnetic photo album of kid crafts. And when other “mom-friends” came over, we’d share additional ideas. And they’d jealously gaze at my fun collection of recipes, plans, and pictures to use at a moment’s notice on a rainy day to engage and enthrall my kids.

Image

Yes…actual “Pins” from Cupcake Decorations to Christmas Ornaments; Circa 1995

When I saw this relic (and before my sentimental-stuff-throwing husband got a hold of it!), I realized that this was my non-tech Pinterest of the mid-1990’s!

It got me wondering, “What do we regularly do now that we enjoy that one day technology will help us do as if it were on steroids?” Who knows? But I look forward to seeing!

And maybe, just maybe, one of my kids or college students will make their living providing easy access for people to do what they love more easily. And I’m betting their work will be done in ways that today don’t yet exist.

What common “non-tech” thing do we do today, that in 20 years will be a regular, household process, known by a catchy name that technology will make possible? Figure that out, design, develop and deploy it…and you’ll create your career and income stream! Ignite your potential with a bit of creative dreaming!

Dr. Scott remains an active Digital Immigrant, forever learning from the Digital Natives in her life. It’s the next generation that teaches her so much! And it’s that learning that helps her be a successful Professor and Director of Training & Development. http://www.LearningPursuits.com

